What Is Kosher?

What Is Kosher?

What is Kosher?

“Kosher” is the word that is paired to describe detailed instructions written in the Torah. Kosher rules list the foods that a Jewish person can or cannot eat, as well as the specific ways needed to prepare certain foods. While these rules may seem complicated, they are necessary for the Jewish faith and here at A Taste of the World, we are dedicated to kashrut, following what needs to be done for the Dallas Jewish community. All foods and preparation must be certified by a Rabbi in a certification organization, following orthodox compliance.


Kosher meat must come from animals that have a split hoof and chew its own cud.  Example:

  • Kosher: Cows and Sheep
  • Not Kosher: Pigs

Poultry, on the other hand, is generally accepted to include domestic fowl (chicken, duck, turkey) as the Torah only lists what poultry is forbidden. The animal must be slaughtered in a humane and quick manner overseen by a shochet– an extensively trained professional in the rituals of kosher slaughter.

All items used in food preparation must also be kosher, and not touch un-kosher food.


Kosher dairy must come from a kosher animal and contain milk. This includes cheese, yogurt and butter. Even the traces amounts of dairy will have a food designated as dairy. Dairy food cannot be prepared or served on dishes that also serve meat. They must be kept separate. Meat and dairy must not be eaten together, either.


Pareve foods include eggs, grains, vegetables, and fruits. These also require their own utensils of preparation and serving, otherwise, the food will be deemed as dairy or meat depending on what was used on it. Eggs must not have blood spots. Larvae and other bugs must not be present in the produce.


A Taste of the World is under the Kosher supervision of the Dallas Kosher (the Vaad Ha Kasrus of Dallas). Ceci, Ruthy and the full staff work alongside the Rabbis to ensure that all food is held to the highest level of Kosher without compromising on taste and presentation.